Glossary Terms

200 OK

This is a standard response for successful HTTP requests. Seeing a 200 code in your auditing tools is a good thing.

301 Redirect

When a website is redesigned or specific web pages and their URL are updated. Pre-existing traffic from the existing URL will permanently redirect to the new URL.

302 Redirect

A temporary redirect from one URL to another. This does not transfer page power as a 301 does, but it still preserves traffic if a page has to come down temporarily.

404 Error

When a URL cannot be found, a 404 Error message is shown. If it's necessary to remove a page, a 404 redirect will indicate the page is no longer in existence.

410 Gone

A 410 code tells the crawlers this page no longer exists and will not be returning. If you are going to be permanently deleting content on your site, it's best to use 410 codes.

5xx Errors

All 500-level error codes are related to server-level errors. There could be a bad gateway (502), a Server outage (503), or a host of other server-related issues.

A/B testing

A frequent testing method by which you design two versions of your creative piece - for example, a photo, a landing page, or an image to test which one creates a better audience response. When creating the two versions, a best practice is to only make one change at a time between the two versions so you can hone in on your audience's responses.

Above the fold

The origins of this term refer back to newsprint days - when above the fold meant the story was on the top half of the newspaper. Today it means your video, call to action, or any relevant forms are easily seen by a user with no scrolling because the placement is above the bottom cut off of the screen before you scroll.

Acquisition

This is often used for the term CPA, meaning the cost per acquisition or sale.

Ad

A paid method of reaching potential customers in various ways, including email, web, phone, or print. Ads are a paid method - in digital marketing, the goal is to use content and images to persuade a user to click through to the website.

Ad exchange

A marketplace using bidding and real-time auctions for buying and selling ads.

Ad fatigue

When users are overexposed to the same ad and it results in fewer clicks and conversions. People tire of seeing the same ads repeatedly, so advertisers will gauge ad exposure to decide when to refresh an ad campaign for a positive experience. Ad fatigue happens when Ad Frequency is high, meaning people have seen the ads several times.

Ad group

In a pay-per-click account, there are subcategories aiming at a specific group of keywords. Often thematically organized to support a campaign.

Ad Rank

A grade that establishes the position of your ad relative to other ads. Google uses a formula to calculate Ad Rank = Max CPC Bid x Quality Score. Increase either component to increase your ad rank and resulting impression share.

Algorithm

A complex set of rules guiding search engines and ad platforms to select what ad a user is exposed to. Algorithms are created from various factors, including keyword bidding, landing page quality score, site optimization, and others.

Algorithms

are complicated computer programs used to organize and rank search results. The algorithms consider various ranking factors to decide how well a web page ranks.

Alt-text

Alternative text informs a user or a Google Bot what an image is of. This is done via tagging the image in HTML. SEO benefits are derived from good alt-text as it gives Google another tool for seeing website content and provides an additional way for viewers to find websites by searching for relevant keywords.

Anchor text

Clickable, blue underlined text used to link a reader from one site to another. A common method used to improve the linking within a website or to improve internal linking structure.

API

The acronym for Application Programming Interface. An intermediary software allowing two different applications to communicate with each other. It opens up access to a limited part of the software so developers can use it. The developer helps others extend the functionality of their app or provide previously inaccessible information.

Attribution

Determining which touchpoint of the marketing funnel is most responsible for a conversion. Frequently, multiple advertising methods might reach a customer before they decide to make a purchase. Attribution recognizes the marketing methods that should "get credit" for the conversion.

Attribution Window

An attribution window is the number of days between a person viewing your ad and subsequently taking action. We measure ad actions based on clicks and views of your ad.

Audience

The target demographic you want to convert. The audience can vary depending on the channel, content, or services. It's typical for an advertiser to have multiple audiences.

Audit

A full analysis of the performance of a website. This gives the company an in-depth understanding of their website, what areas are succeeding, and where you need improvement for SEO purposes. "We are completing a CRO audit, "would mean your team is looking for ways to increase the conversion rate or optimize conversion rate.

B2B, B2C, and B2G

Business to Business (B2B), Business to Consumer (B2C), and Business to Government (B2G) - Marketing terms indicating who you're doing business with.

Backlink

A hyperlink in one website to another. Having good backlinks can improve your website's performance and searchability from a search engine. When one site provides a link to another website, they are, in effect, endorsing the other site and giving them "juice." When these links come from reputable locations, like a .gov, .org, or well-known company, the power for that website grows.

Bid

The price a marketer will pay to show their ad. Used in pay-per-click advertising, this often refers to keyword bidding and the amount an advertiser will place on a keyword so Google will consider them in their algorithm. For example, in LinkedIn, the bidding is how much you are willing to spend on a click to be competitive at auction.

Billing Threshold

The amount you can spend on ads before the social media platform advertising manager charges you. Whenever your ad costs reach your billing threshold amount, the credit card on the account will be charged for that amount.

Bing AdCenter

A platform for SEM where users can manage their pay-per-click advertisements on Yahoo! and Bing. It is the Microsoft alternative to Google AdWords.

Black hat

A Black hat also known as a hacker is a person who gets into computer systems without permission for criminal or bad reasons.

Blog

A series of pages on a website containing informational posts. They are designed to grab the attention of someone interested in that subject. Digital marketers recommend blog posts to increase traffic to a company's website by providing information about that service or industry.

BOF

Bottom of funnel. In the marketing world, the bottom of the funnel is where you'll retarget highly interested audiences who did not convert into leads earlier. It's essential to vary your offers or creative because customers get irritated when they see the same ad repeatedly, and then you'll see low conversion rates. The bottom of the funnel provides the hottest leads.

Bots

Sometimes called a 'Googlebot' or 'Spider,' a bot is a web crawler that discovers pages or websites that are new or updated. As a user searches, Google's bot will crawl the internet to find the most relevant results for the user's query.

Bounce rate

The percentage of viewers who exit a site after only seeing one page without navigating to other pages. Understanding bounce rate clarifies user interest and is often used to determine what website area should be optimized.

Bounce rate in email marketing

When you can't reach a recipient in your email campaign, the email gets "bounced" back to you with notification of the status. The bounce rate is the actual percentage of emails that bounce back.

Browse abandonment

When a consumer visits your site, looks at your products, and then leaves without adding anything to their shopping basket or making a purchase, it's referred to as browse abandonment.

Budget

Often categorized as the monthly allocation of spending the client wants to provide.

Buyer Persona

A marketing team will create a buyer persona to describe your potential customers. Included in the persona will be demographics such as gender, age, and interests. A persona is not random demographics - it's created using research on your target market so that you have a big picture of your customer's goals, behaviors, and purchasing motivations.

C2C and C2B

Consumer to Consumer (C2C) and Consumer to Business (C2B) - Marketing terms indicating who you're doing business with. An example of a C2B business is when a consumer provides value to a business via referral, testimonials, or data sharing.

CAC or Customer Acquisition Cost

The total cost to bring in a customer. It is a total of all your marketing and sales costs per customer and includes such costs as paying for designers or writers to prepare a campaign. A common goal is to have your CAC be approximately one-third of your CLV.

Campaign

A Top-level category with one or more ad groups for a PPC account. Multiple campaigns can be divided up by services or products, competitors, or branded.

Channel

Advertisers choose various marketing channels to reach their audience. The most common ones are Email, Google, Organic, Paid, and different Social Media channels such as Facebook, Instagram, & Twitter.

Clicks or Ad Click

A marketing metric that counts how many times a user has clicked on an ad.

CLV or Customer Lifetime Value

The amount of profit on each purchase multiplied by the number of purchases an average customer makes per year multiplied by the customer's lifespan. So, if a company earns $12 in profit for each purchase, the average customer makes 3 purchases per year, and that same average customer lasts five years, the CLV is $180 ($12 x 3 x 5).

CMS or Content Management System

A software package or system designed to organize and manage digital content on a website. WordPress, Wix, and Squarespace are examples of these systems. See also WCM.

Code

A set of instructions written in one of many programming languages such as JavaScript, CSS, or HTML. This code instructs a website or page on how to display information or perform in response to user input.

Contact Form

A page, window, or section of a website that users can fill out to communicate with the website owner. Most forms contain fields to collect names, phone numbers, email addresses, and comments. Contact forms are becoming a necessary design element for all up-to-date websites.

Content

Images, videos, written materials including web page copy, blogs, articles, advertisements, social media posts – anything online that users will see with the goal of getting the user to interact with that information.

Conversion API

Conversions API is a Meta Business Tool designed to connect your marketing data to the Meta technologies, reducing cost per action, optimizing ad targeting, and measuring results across Meta technologies. Your marketing data is used to display ads only to your target audience.

Conversions

When a user clicks on an ad, downloads a document, browses further within the website, or any other action the website owner counts as a conversion. Conversion marketing examines how customers interact with websites and then design content and ads to increase their conversion rate.

Cookie

A piece of code stored on the user's browser to track how they interact with the site and store user information. These cookies can be temporary or permanent and can be cleared by the user. The website owner compiles information from these cookies to market back to the user or provide a smoother/faster website experience for the user the next time.

Copy or Ad Copy

The headlines and text associated with content.

CPA or Cost per Acquisition

The amount of money spent on acquiring one new lead or customer per campaign. This campaign may be confined to one channel or across multiple media channels. It includes not just the cost of advertising but also developing and creating the campaign. For example, if a campaign spend was $1000 and it resulted in 20 conversions, the cost per acquisition is $50 ($1000/20).

CPC or Cost per Click

The cost of the ad divided by the number of clicks on that ad. If an ad was clicked on 200 times and cost $400 to place, the cost per click is $2 ($400/200).

CPL or Cost per Lead

The cost of the ad divided by the number of sales leads that are generated. If the ad spend is $750 and generates 100 leads, the CPL is $7.50 ($750/100).

CPM or Cost per Thousand

The cost of 1000 impressions of an ad. If a company spends $1000 for 4000 impressions (or 4 - 1000s), the CPM is $250 ($1000/4).

Crawl or Crawling

Using an automated program to index data on web pages so they can be returned in search results. They gather information about each page, such as meta tags and copy, then store the page in an index so search engines can find them later and rank for users.

Creatives

The general marketing term for the creative aspect of content marketing. It is the concept, design, and artwork that goes into an ad or website, communicating a theme to a target audience and getting them to perform an action.

CRM or Customer Relationship Management

A technology that helps you manage customer relationships, track marketing and sales leads, and analyze data for compensation models, forecasting, product innovation, and other customer service activities.

CRO or Conversion Rate Optimization

is the practice of improving a website's conversion rate by encouraging more people to perform a certain action on it. Purchasing a product, clicking "add to cart," signing up for a service, filling out a form, and clicking on a link are all examples of desired activities.

CTA or Call to Action

The phrase used to tell the reader what action to take. Popular examples include terms such as "Contact Us," "Buy Here," "Download," or "Call Today."

CTR or Click Through Rate

The number of times an ad is clicked on, divided by the number of times that same ad is seen. Click Through Rates can measure how successful your ad campaign has been in grabbing the user's attention. The higher the CTR, the more relevant the ad is to that audience, implying that you are reaching your target audience.

CVR or Conversion Rate

The number of conversions a website owner counts divided by the number of clicks on the triggering content. For example, if an ad is clicked on 400 times, but only 100 users then add that item to their cart from that ad, the conversion rate is 25% (100/400).

Dashboard

A place where relevant metrics are presented in an at-a-glance format. The Google Analytics dashboard tracks advertisement statistics over a period and offers a simple picture of how users interact with the campaign or the website as a whole.

Demographics

The statistics of a population are generally broken down into categories such as age, gender, ethnicity, employment status, income, and location. These statistics provide a broad understanding of the public to fine-tune strategic business and marketing plans, often by targeting advertisements toward one or more demographics.

Display Ads

The individual ads appearing on web pages, including social media, often in the form of banners, images, videos, animations, or slideshows.

Display Advertising

Advertising that is generally shown on any digital platform, including web pages and social media platforms like Instagram or Facebook. The advertising may include text, images, or videos and usually contains a URL that links to a consumer site.

Display Network

A network of sites that show display ads on their web pages. These ads may appear nearby or within related content. Display networks have a lower conversion rate but also have a lower cost per click.

DKI or Dynamic Keyword Insertion

Dynamic content is content that changes based on who is viewing it. DKI uses a special piece of code to update the content to match the customer's related keyword.

DMP or Data Management Platform

A software system that stores, manages, and analyzes data for marketing and advertising campaigns.

DoFollow

The default setting for a hyperlink that does not have a NoFollow tag. DoFollow backlinks improve page rank and rank higher for multiple keywords.

Domain Authority

A score of 1-100, measuring a domain's SEO weight in search engine terms. The higher the score, the more authoritative the domain.

Domain or Domain Name

The part of the URL that signifies the owner of the host or web server. For example, in the URL www.romainberg.com/services, romainberg.com is the domain name.

DSP or Demand Side Platform

Automated software systems through which advertisers manage their ad accounts, e.g., Google Ad Manager.

Eager loading

Eager loading is the practice of executing a query for one kind of entity while also fetching related data as part of the request. The Include method can be used to achieve eager loading. It implies that database results and related data should be included in the response.

Ecommerce or E-Commerce

Businesses that are conducted online. The most common form is an online retailer that sells products directly to consumers (B2C) but also includes B2B, B2G, C2C, and C2B.

Email List

A list of email addresses specifically for use in targeted marketing campaigns. Email lists can be generated by users who subscribe or opt-in to content or by completing a purchase which includes providing their information. Beware of email list fatigue which occurs when subscribers stop engaging with your emailed content.

Email Marketing

A targeted marketing campaign used to promote your business via electronic mail. Generally thought of as a way to send ads, request business, or obtain sales, it can also be any message sent to build loyalty or brand awareness.

Engagement Rate

A social media metric indicating how well users interact with your post. It is the sum of Likes, Comments, and Shares divided by the Total Number of Followers, displayed as a percentage. Search engines will view you as a notable source for your industry if you have a high engagement rate.

Facebook Ads Manager

A tool for creating ads, setting when and how they will appear, and tracking ad performance. These ads can be run on Facebook, Messenger, Instagram, or the Facebook Audience Network.

Facebook Advertising

Paid advertising to reach a specific audience via Facebook. Paid ads can be placed directly into mobile and desktop feeds and targets specific user characteristics. Less precise targeting is available with an ad in the right-hand column of a Facebook page. You can obtain additional ad space via audience network placements or on Instagram (owned by Facebook).

Facebook Business Page

A Facebook page typically represents public figures, businesses, or organizations. Pages have similar functionality as Profiles; however, pages have Followers instead of Friends. Pages also have access to Facebook Ads Manager and other customized features.

Facebook Profile

An account for an individual to share photos, posts, etc., and provide personal information.

Featured Snippet

A summary of information that Google gathers from a website and displays at the top of the results page as its best answer to the user's query. The snippet usually contains the page title, URL, and an image from the page that Google has determined best answers the question.

Form Fill

When a user fills out a contact form on a website. The website owner generally counts it as a conversion.

Frequency

An advertising metric counting the average number of times one person has seen an ad. A high frequency can result in ad fatigue causing the user to form an unfavorable impression of the brand or product.

GMB or Google My Business

Google My Business website is a free online service that connects to the Google search engine. By creating a listing with Google My Business, companies can ensure that accurate, up-to-date information shows up in Google searches and Maps. By introducing small and local businesses to SEO, search engine marketing (SEM), and establishing an internet presence, Google My Business may assist them.

Google AdWords

Pay-per-click (PPC) advertising for a relatively small investment that may utilize Google's Search Network, Google's Display Network, or both, depending upon the options you choose.

Google Analytics

A free tool provided by Google, which collects data and organizes it into reports showing how users interact with websites.

GSC or Google Search Console

A free Google tool previously known as Webmaster Tools. It displays key metrics regarding how a website is being crawled, indexed, and performs within Google search results.

GTM or Google Tag Manager

A Google product that works with Google Analytics. It is a system for easily adding, changing, or updating tags without editing the website code.

H Tags

More commonly referred to as header tags or HTML tags, these are code telling the web browser how the text should be displayed. They are categorized from H1 to H6, with H1 for titles and the remainder applied to subsequent subheadings. Beyond aesthetics, search engine crawlers use these header tags to gather information about the webpage quickly.

Hashtag

The "#" symbol used at the beginning of a phrase to tag content for other social media users to find in a singular place.

Header

The top section of a website containing the logo, menu, or other important information about the page.

Header Code

Code placed in the header section of a website that is accessible across all site pages. It typically contains items like meta title and description, Adwords Code, and style options.

Header Tags

see H Tags.

Heatmap

A graphical representation indicating how users interact with a website. It maps out where users click, scroll, or demonstrate other interactive behaviors.

HTML or Hypertext Markup Language

The coding language used to instruct a web browser on how to display that page. It is usually combined with CSS and JavaScript for style and functionality.

Hyperlink

Link, for short, is a piece of HTML code, usually connected to an icon, graphic, or underlined phrase, that connects to another webpage or resource.

Impressions

The number of times your ad shows up in front of a user. The user may not actually interact or even view the ad, but it was on the screen. An impression could be counted multiple times if the same person was present while the ad was displayed at different times.

Inbound Link

Inbound links are hyperlinks from a site outside of your website and are the opposite of outbound links. Inbound links are important because search engines use them as part of determining your site's ranking. They are often viewed as free advertising but can be detrimental to your reputation depending upon the quality of the originating site.

Inbound Marketing

A term currently used interchangeably with "SEO." It is simply the process of helping users find your business/website. In addition to bringing customers to your website, it is also used to educate and build trust about your products and brand.

Index

A list of data obtained by crawlers and bots, organized so it can be quickly reviewed by a search engine. The data collected includes keywords, metadata, and other information about each item in the list.

Indexing

The process of collecting and organizing data obtained by crawlers and bots and arranged into an index. The index created is then used to rank the pages.

IP Address

"IP" stands for Internet Protocol, and the address is a series of unique numbers and periods. Each IP address represents a networked device. Static IP addresses are permanent values assigned to a device. Dynamic IP addresses pull from a pool shared among computers and are assigned each time a computer accesses the internet. You can find the IP address of your device by searching "what is my IP address."

IS or Impression Share

The number of impressions your ad had divided by the number of eligible impressions it could have had. Eligible impressions are those with a particular ad tag that Google's servers have acknowledged. If your ad had 10,000 impressions but could have had 50,000 impressions, your Impression Share is 20% (10,000/50,000).

JavaScript

Java is a programming language used for writing digital device applications. JavaScript is a scripting language that can only be used in web browsers to create interactive elements such as search bars or interactive maps. Anyone can use JavaScript, and it does not require purchasing a license.

Keyword

A word a user searches for and one that describes the central theme of the content on a website page or post.

Keyword Phrase

A group of two or more keywords. Keyword phrases can help narrow down search results or better define your inquiry.

Keyword Research

The process of determining what terms and phrases users frequently search for as they relate to your website and content. Using those keywords can help your business rank higher in searches.

Keyword Stuffing

Using a keyword superfluously in a body of text in an effort to rank for that keyword. The placement may even appear random and out of context. This is an out-of-date practice that Google discourages by lowering SEO scores when caught.

KPI or Key Performance Indicator

Any important metric used by a business or business function to measure its success. Marketing examples include New Customers, Return on Ad Spend (ROAS), and Cost per Acquisition (CPA).

Landing page

A stand alone web page designed to get information from a lead, often via a contact form. The user often gets to a landing page via a link on a PPC ad. The landing page design and content are formed to target a particular group of traffic to convert a higher percentage into valuable leads.

Launch

The first day a website, ad, campaign, or other marketing strategy goes live on the internet and is available for the general public to view.

Lazy loading

Lazy loading is the act of delaying or inactivating resources or objects until they are actually needed to improve performance and save system resources.

Lead

A potential customer in the sales funnel—any person or business with the intention of purchasing from or engaging with your business. See MQL and SQL for definitions of qualified leads.

Lead Generation

The process of creating interest in your product, service, or business with the goal of obtaining leads. Two steps in the lead generation process include getting prospects to your website and then getting those prospects to share their contact information.

Lead Magnet

An incentive offered to prospects in exchange for their contact information. These incentives typically include free checklists, white papers, ebooks, access to additional content, etc.

Link

See "hyperlink." Internal links point to pages on the same website, while external links connect to a different site.

Link profile

A compilation of all links pointing to a particular website. If many of the links are from sites with questionable reputations, dubious content, or are spammy, they can affect how a site is rated based on trust, subject matter, and content. Links from reputable sources and strong content providers will improve rankings.

Loading speed

the rate at which a web page becomes available to a viewer, from the moment they make the request until the time it takes for the entire page to load.

Lookalike Audience

A Facebook service that creates a subset of users similar in demographics, occupations, and interests to those of your existing customer base or defined ideal customer. The goal is to optimize your ad spend by expanding your reach to a new audience while at the same time limiting that audience to those with proven engagement characteristics.

Marketing Analytics

A discipline that uses statistics, machine learning, and predictive modeling to interpret user behavior and report the results in a qualitative manner that can be presented objectively. Marketing analytics aims to determine how well your current efforts are working and what to do differently.

Marketing Automation

The process of using technology to automate manual, repetitive tasks like sending emails, text messages, or social media posts. The goal of automation is to simplify time-consuming tasks leaving you free to work on strategy and other important tasks. There are many marketing automation software applications, including Mailchimp, SharpSpring, and HubSpot.

Medium (source/medium)

The kind of traffic being driven to a website, such as organic traffic generated by search engines. Other mediums include direct, PPC, email, social, and referral.

Meta Description

A short description of a web page's contents. It may appear in search engine results but not exist verbatim on the page. The purpose of the meta description is to include keywords for ranking and displaying information to get the user to click through to the actual page.

Meta Title

The meta title is similar to the meta description in that it should also include the keyword but is an even briefer summary of the content. If done correctly, search engines will read the title first and continue to the description if the page is deemed relevant to the search.

Metadata

Often referred to as meta tags, is data that describes other data. These tags may include the purpose of the data, a creation timestamp, file sizes, the source, and additional information, making it easier to work with the original data.

Mobile Search

An online search conducted via smartphones or other mobile devices. Mobile searches are assumed to be looking for localized and simpler search results than those performed on a desktop. Mobile SEO and desktop SEO rankings differ due to device performance and user intent and, therefore, may need separate strategies.

MQL or Marketing Qualified Lead

A prospective customer who has shown an interest in your product and service through a contact form or some other marketing tool or strategy.

Newsletter

Typically, an online document or email sent to customers containing news, tips, insights, brand or product information, industry happenings, etc. The newsletters can be free or for sale. Access to newsletters is often used to gather contact information and can be used as a lead magnet.

NFT or Non-Fungible Token

Non-fungible tokens (NFTs) are blockchain-based cryptocurrencies with unique identification codes and data that distinguish them from one another.

Niche

A smaller, specialized segment of a broader market defined by unique characteristics and unmet demands. Members of a particular niche might share demographics, interests, disposable income, values, location, consumer preferences, etc. For example, a niche may consist of women of a certain age, in remote locations, with no access to a particular in-person service that you could fulfill via delivery or an online experience.

NoFollow

An HTML markup, or tag, added to a hyperlink that tells the search engine to ignore that link. This tag does not affect the functionality of the link but generally doesn't help your search engine ranking. The NoFollow tag was created to deter spammers from filling comment sections with links back to their sites.

Nonprofit Marketing

Promoting an organization's cause to attract volunteers and donors. The strategy may or may not include selling products or services to raise funds. The tactics and strategies used can be similar to for-profit companies but often differ due to smaller budgets and a better-defined mission.

Off-page SEO

involves optimization techniques you implement off your website. These techniques help search engines determine if your website is trustworthy, relevant, and authoritative.

Offer

A marketing offer is typically a product or service that is free or deeply discounted, given in exchange for completing a CTA, such as providing contact information. These offers may be similar to lead magnets.

OG or Open Graph Tag

OG meta tags provide information to social media, such as Facebook, indicating how you want that information displayed. The most common tags include description, image, site name, title, type, and URL.

On-page SEO

involves optimizing the content on a web page. This process ensures your site’s content is relevant and offers the best experience to web visitors.

Opener

The first section after the headline, consisting of 1-3 sentences. It should engage the reader and encourage them to move down the page.

Opt-in

A form of consent given willingly by providing some information, indicating an interest in an offer, and consent to receiving messaging.

Organic Traffic

Users that reach your website based on unpaid search results. The goal of SEO optimization is to increase organic traffic.

ORM or Online Reputation Management

is the process of developing methods for influencing or shaping public opinion about an organization, individual, or other entity on the Internet.

Outbound Link

The opposite of inbound links, outbound links are hyperlinks to a site outside of your website. There are two types of outbound links - see NoFollow and DoFollow. DoFollow is standard and lets search engines start to recognize you as an authority for that resource.

Page Speed

The rate at which the content for a web page loads. Page speed affects ranking because it limits the number of pages that can be crawled within the allocated crawl time. It also leads to a higher bounce rate as users are impatient and abandon the page.

Page Views

The number of times a request is made to load a single HTML page. There is no segmentation between new viewers or returning viewers. Page Views is a common metric used for marketing analytics.

Pagination

The act of separating printing or digital material into distinct pages is known as pagination. Pagination also refers to the automated procedure of adding consecutive numbers to identify the sequential order of pages in printed materials and some online content.

Paid ads

Paid ads or paid advertising is a form of online marketing where businesses pay to have their ads displayed on specific platforms or networks. Advertisers bid in real-time auctions for the chance to show their ads within designated slots.

Paid Search Traffic

Customers that visit your website by coming through paid advertising such as PPC Advertising or banner advertisements. This paid advertising may reside on web pages, social media platforms, and other media networks.

Pixel

An HTML code snippet loaded when a user visits a website or opens an email and is used to track actions taken by the user. They function similar to a cookie but cannot be blocked by normal browsers. The data gathered allows you to monitor conversions, optimize ads, and retarget previous visitors.

PPC or Pay-Per-Click Advertising

A digital advertising model that charges the advertiser only when a user clicks on the ad.

Programmatic Advertising

Using artificial intelligence to automate the ad sale and purchasing process. Programmatic advertising can take the guesswork out of targeting your most relevant users and maximize your budget.

Pull Marketing

A marketing method that creates demand for a product, thus pulling the consumer to the source. Digital marketing capitalizes on this method through SEO and social media's word-of-mouth effect.

Push Marketing

Considered to be a more traditional marketing approach that pushes the product in front of the customer by using wide-reaching advertising methods such as television ads, coupons, and direct mail.

Quality Score

A score indicating how closely related an ad and landing page are to the keywords. Higher Quality Scores can increase the number of times it is displayed and at a lower cost.

Query

The words or phrases typed into a search engine, also referred to as a search term, and the keywords digital marketing is often trying to optimize around.

Reach

An estimate of the number of potential customers you can touch with a given marketing campaign. There are formulas to help calculate reach, but luckily, marketing analytics features like those associated with Google Adwords will do all the work.

Remarketing

Sometimes interchanged with retargeting but is confined to email or phone campaigns. Remarketing aims to re-engage customers who have already done business with you. Typical remarketing techniques include reminding customers they have abandoned products in their cart, introducing or promoting products similar to previous purchases, and offering discounts to dormant customers.

Reputable sources

are ones that can be trusted to provide accurate and unbiased information. It should be written by a reputable author or organization and backed up with solid evidence.

Retargeting

A digital marketing strategy of displaying advertisements to previous visitors to your website that have not made a purchase. Tracking cookies may have captured information regarding products they viewed or even abandoned in their cart, allowing you to retarget them with customized ads.

RLSA or Remarketing Lists for Search Ads

A list of users who have previously visited your site without performing the desired action (e.g., making a purchase). This list allows you to take several next steps. You could show a different ad for the same product as users continue their search. You can also bid on different keywords that might then return your site in the user's search results again.

ROAS or Return on Ad Spend

The ratio of revenue generated to advertising costs. If you spend $10,000 on advertising and generate $40,000 in revenue, your ROAS is 4:1 or 400% ($40k/$10K). ROAS does not take into account other costs associated with the ad spend. See ROI for an additional metric.

ROI or Return on Investment

The ratio of profit to expenses. This calculation differs from ROAS as it includes all expenses and not just the funds spent on the advertising itself. If a company spends $1,000 on advertising, $1000 on product samples, and $500 for a booth space at a convention and makes $4,000 in sales, the ROI is 60% (($4K-($1K+$1K+$500))/($1K+$1K+$500)).

RTB or Real-time Bidding

When an ad gets bought or sold using programmatic advertising on a per-impression basis at the time of viewing (i.e., in real-time).

Sales funnel

A marketing metaphor becoming somewhat outdated with rapid changes in the digital sales environment. Traditional stages, funneling prospective customers from top to bottom, were Awareness, Interest, Desire, and Action.

Search Engine

A program that examines an index of information available on the internet and returns results that best match the searcher's input. The results can be organic or paid listings. The list of results is referred to as a search engine results page or SERP.

Search Engine Result Pages (SERP)

this is the display of results that a search engine offers in response to a keyword or phrase inquiry.

Search engine spiders

are programs that visit websites and collect data about the site to be entered into a search engine index.

Search engines

a software system that allows users to find what they are looking for online by typing in keywords or phrases.

Search Lost IS

The impression share lost because your ad was not displayed due to its ad rank. If impressions share is the percent of time your ad was displayed out of all eligible impressions, then search lost IS is the percent of time your ad was not displayed.

SEM or Search Engine Marketing

A phrase sometimes limited to only paid search activities. More generally, it refers to any digital marketing via paid advertising or SEO that increases your website's visibility on SERPs.

SEO or Search Engine Optimization

Improving the ranking of an online presence by increasing the amount and quality of organic traffic your website receives via search engine results. This optimization is usually obtained by using relevant keywords, correctly structured web pages, and user-friendly URLs.

SERP or Search Engine Results Page

The list of results returned after a user submits a query. Results usually include a mix of organic listings and paid search and PPC ads.

Session Duration or Time on Site

The amount of time a user spends interacting with a website for any given session.

Sessions

The activities of a user interacting with a website, and those activities may include leaving and returning to the site. A session ends if the user has been inactive for 30 minutes, it is the start of a new day (all sessions end at midnight and a new one starts - though, this is changing with GA4), or if the user arrives at the site via one ad campaign and returns via another, the first session ends.

SIS or Search Impression Share

See Impression Share.

Sitemap

A list of a website's pages in a structured format. Designers use sitemaps during the planning of a website. Individual users may view them for navigational purposes. Sitemaps or XML Sitemaps are formatted listings used by web crawlers to evaluate the site's relevance for ranking quickly.

Spider

Another name for a crawler or a bot. An automated program that indexes data on web pages to return search results.

SQL or Sales Qualified Lead

An interested person that Sales have determined to have a high probability of converting to an actual customer. This is often done by determining the customer's need, timing, budget, and authority to make the purchasing decision.

SSP or Supply-side Platform

Software systems that allow publishers to manage their available ad inventory.

Tag (HTML)

A bit of HTML code which communicates to a web browser how to display the element to which it is attached.

Tag (metadata)

A keyword or phrase associated with an item, such as a blog, to aid in classification of the information. Often the tag is a link to a page listing all associated posts.

Technical SEO

involves improving your site’s technical aspects to help search engines to discover and analyze your website more easily. It ensures search engines can quickly find, assess, and index information on your web pages.

Trigger

An automated action attached to a tag that occurs when a user completes an action such as clicking a button on a website. The tag manager software then determines what kind of click occurred and if it was the right kind of click to forward to the analytics software.

UGC or User Generated Content

Any content produced by the website users versus the company behind the website. UGC increases engagement when a combination of professional and user-generated content is used.

UI or User Interface

The audio and visual elements on an electronic device as they sound/appear to the user. A good UI should be easy for people to understand and enhance their user experience. Accessibility of UIs is a growing focus to ensure that those outside the "typical" user persona can still access a site's functionality.

Unique Visitors

A count of the number of new or returning visitors to a website that are counted once per time period. Visitors are tracked by their IP addresses, so someone returning multiple times to the site will only be counted once for this metric. Analytical programs also filter out spiders, crawlers, and bots to ensure only humans (and keyboard savvy cats) are counted.

URL or Uniform Resource Locator

A series of numbers, letters, periods, and slashes that represent the online address of a web page.

UTM Tracking

The use of Urchin Traffic Monitor Parameters to follow behaviors associated with specific marketing campaigns and help you track sales volume to a source. Different parameter variants allow you to track various performance elements of a campaign or content. You can use UTM tracking with email and social media posts, as well as web pages.

UX or User Experience

How a user interacts with the UI and their positive or negative reaction to it. Some features needed for a positive UX include useful content, a site that is easily navigated, the information provided appears credible, and the content is accessible to typical and atypical users.

Value Proposition

A brief statement describing the benefits your product or service offers a customer.

Variable

The feature you change in your A/B testing to determine how a user's response will differ. Variables may include font, images, colors, specific copy, layout, or timing.

Viral

When a piece of online content evokes strong enough emotions to spur users to share it with others at a pace much more rapid than other similar content. There is no set quantity or metric by platform that determines the "viral" status.

Visits

The number of times a user comes to a web page and interacts for a specified time. See Sessions.

VSL or Video Sales Letter

A video sales letter (VSL) is a video that promotes a product or service to the audience. The same methods used in a written sales letter to persuade people are utilized in a VSL, which is presented in video form. Video sales letters can be found on websites, landing pages, and digital advertisements.

WCM or Web Content Management System

The expansion of the CMS to a more robust system across multiple channels such as mobile apps, social media, email, and websites.

Web page

A single document written in HTML so it can be read by web browsers and usually accessed by anyone.

Webinar

A seminar conducted virtually on the internet. They may consist of web-based video conferencing, videos, slide presentations, and other presentation methods for training, sharing information, answering questions, etc.

Website

A collection of web pages that share a common domain name.

XML or Extensible Markup Language

Similar to HTML, it is a coding language designed to store and transfer data primarily used to categorize the data. It does not contain presentation information and is often used in conjunction with HTML.

XML or Extensible Markup Language

is a language that describes data. The XML standard is a flexible mechanism for generating information formats and sharing structured data over the public internet as well as inside corporate networks.

XML Sitemap

See Sitemap

XML Sitemap

is a document that lists all of a website's pages in order for search engines to get an overview of the site's entire content.

YouTube

A video-sharing website that is now part of the Google ad network. YouTube also offers paid advertising which can be created and run through Google Adwords.

YouTube

is a free video-sharing website owned by Google. The name "YouTube" is said to have come from the fact that the video originated from you (from the fact that you made it) and "Tube" refers to television (cathode ray tube).

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